S’more Please!

I have been on a super healthy kick lately– lots of raw foods, fruits and veggies.  I’ve got kale coming out my ears!  It’s good and good for me, but sometimes you just gotta splurge on something a little naughty. Everything in moderation right? I don’t have a huge sweet tooth but now and then I’ll get a hankering for something sweet and gooey. One of my all time favorites are s’mores. Love ’em.  I have been on the hunt for a good recipe for S’mores bars – I’ve seen a lot of different one, and many called for added sugar or sweetened condensed milk.  No thanks!  One of my favorite things about S’mores is that they aren’t cloying.  My mom was a huge help in assisting with the development of this recipe so if you are familiar with any of her other recipes, you know this one is a keeper!

{ processing nilla wafers for crumb mix }{ press the cookie cracker dough into bottom of pan }{ layer chocolate over hot cookie cracker and spread }{ broil top layer of marshmallows until brown }{ deeeeelish! }

S’mores Bars Recipe

10 Hershey bars
6 cups mini marshmallows
20 graham crackers
50 nilla wafers
2 cubes unsalted butter, softened
2 eggs
Qtr tsp salt
13×9 baking pan, buttered (I split this batch up into two smaller pans)

Process graham crackers and nilla wafers until fine. Pour cracker/cookie crumbs into bowl of mixer, add butter (cut into chunks), salt and eggs. Mix until the entire mixture is wet.
Press mixture evenly into bottom of buttered pan, bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.
After baking, while it is still hot cover with the Hershey chocolate. You can break off pieces or cut them in half to completely cover it.
Generously sprinkle mini marshmallows over the top, making sure you can’t see any of the chocolate.  Place pan under the oven broiler, leave the oven door part way open and watch until the marshmallows have that medium brown top.

Enjoy!

*S’mores remind me of bonfires, bonfires remind me of summer, summer reminds me of baseball and baseball reminds me of one the biggest fans I know out there – my amazing friend Malissa!  She is a beautiful single mom who is currently fighting breast cancer, so please take a moment to vote for her to be the San Diego Padres 2012 Honorary Bat Girl by clicking here.

One response to “S’more Please!

  1. Pingback: Goals for 2013 | Filthy and Gorgeous

Leave a Reply

