Lessons Learned

So I turned 30 a month ago.  Thirty.  THIR-TY.  Ok, I said it out loud.  I haven’t really thought too much about it but I recently filled out a form where I had to “check” the 30-35 box.  That was a real mind-blower, and I started to reflect on what it meant to “be” 30 and how much fun my 20s were.  They were fun, indeed – and I definitely look forward to what the next decade brings and I can say they will be even better because of all the lessons I’ve learned such as:

  1. Pick a signature scent – one fragrance that “defines” you.  Wear it everyday. 
  2. Eat the damn dessert.  Yes, you’re so full. Yes, you really shouldn’t – but you’re out with friends and you’re making memories so stop trying to edit the fun.
  3. Drink the damn champagne – see above.
  4. Have a tool kit and be very familiar with IKEA furniture instructions (“there are no words!  just pictures!  what do these flying screws mean??”).  I’m proud to say I’ve never needed assistance in this regard and actually enjoy it.  Like giant LEGOS.
  5. Support your friends, don’t judge.  You might not agree with their choice in boyfriend, or where they decide to live – but it’s not your job to tell them what to do.  It’s your job to support them along the way and catch them if they fall. 
  6. Embrace your break-ups! You dated that dummy for a reason, remember what it is and remember what and what not to look for next time.  Everything happens for a reason, and as cliche as it sounds – there’s something better waiting for you.
  7. Follow your gut.  If something doesn’t feel right, it’s probably not right.  You could get stuck in a boring career (or a terrible relationship) because you know it’s wrong but are afraid of change.  My favorite follow your gut story:  My girlfriend Angela and I were out to lunch and she told me “I’m going to become a police officer.” Very matter-of-factly.  Angela is tall, gorgeous and wrote fashion articles at the time so as soon as she informed me of her plans I immediately thought “but you’re too pretty!!!” How sexist is that?  Needless to say, I supported her along the way (see #5) and when she walked across the stage at her academy graduation to get her badge I thought “there goes the prettiest, smartest, nicest cop I know – and she’s MY friend”.  I also sobbed like a baby I was so proud.  Now when we talk, I make her tell me stories of drug busts, speeding motorists and the potential of her doing some undercover work as a hooker. 
  8. Dance.  In your desk chair at work, in your car, at the kitchen sink, while you brush your teeth, while you stand in line at the grocery store, while you blow dry your hair.  It always pulls me out of a funk, and if anyone is in a funk nearby – usually works for them to0.
  9. Love your parents.  The 20s are a hard time, trying to figure out who you are and what you want to be and you need that kind of support system to at least be a soundboard for you if not directly help you attain some of your goals.  They won’t be around forever (as macabre as that is, it’s true), so appreciate them while they’re here, with you in the present.
  10. Don’t question yourself.  Live your truth, and don’t doubt it.  Otherwise you’ll miss out on some really great experiences.  You might think to yourself “who could possibly want to read my random ramblings” and then you’d never start your fun little blog.  Or is that just me?

xoxo, my lovelies – cheers and here’s to the next 10 years!

 

2 responses to “Lessons Learned

  1. Sister, you are WISE beyond your years! Whatta pleasure to read and more of a pleasure to have my the author of this blog and extremely lucky I now call her my friend 🙂 xo

  2. Yikes, I didn’t proofread but you get the jist (sp?)!

Leave a Reply

