Because it’s hot outside.

Lately, the temperature has been hitting the triple digits which brings about two things – less clothing and more sweat.  I’m not a fan of sweating, it’s one of my least favorite things actually.  I understand it’s my body trying to cool down, a necessary biological function, but that doesn’t make it any less unpleasant.  It also happens to be makeup’s worst enemy.  Over the years of hades-like weather and my own beauty finesse, I’ve figured out what works and what doesn’t. 

  1. Foundation primer and oil free tinted moisturizer.  The primer absorbs oil throughout the day, protecting your pores and doesn’t look cakey like face powder would. I love tinted moisturizer because it’s not as heavy as foundation, but still provides some coverage.  Shown: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer, Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer
  2.  Waterproof eyeliner and mascara.  Eyeshadow tends to crease, so when it gets steamy I prefer to keep it simple with a swipe on my top lash line, or winged liner for something a little more dramatic.  Shown: Buxom Waterproof Smoky Eye Stick (I like “Brass Knuckles”), BeneFit BADgal Waterproof Mascara
  3. Pigment creams.  These creams are fast drying and long-lasting.  I like to get a neutral pink that I can use on my lips AND cheeks. I’m all about the double beauty duty.  Shown: MAKE UP FOREVER Aqua Cream in Peach.
  4. Bronzer.  Instead of my regular face power, I like to give myself a light dusting of bronzer when it’s warmer out.  It gets rid of the shine, and I don’t look so ghostly white.  It took me a while to find one that wasn’t too “orangey” – but I think I’ve found my match! Shown: bareMinerals Faux Tan Matte
  5. If all else fails – hairspray.  Yes, hairspray.  When you’ve got an event, or you know you’ll be taking lots of pictures and it’s a hot summery night, you have to spritz the good stuff.  I’ve done this to every bride I’ve ever done up (and myself often enough) – trust me, it works.  After you’re done with your makeup, close your eyes, hold your breath and spray.  It will set the makeup, and nothing will budge.  I don’t recommend this as an every day trick, however – so keep it reserved for something special. Shown: Fekkai Sheer Hold Hairspray
Leave a Reply

