Because I love my mom.

I happen to have one of the greatest moms around. 

{ Mom, 1976 }

Not to gloat, but it’s just a simple fact.  She’s insanely smart, funny, an amazing cook, party planner, awesome shopping buddy, a wonderful listener and my best friend. 

She also happens to currently be in the ICU and I’m not sure I can adequately articulate how this hurts my heart.  I stayed up with her last night and watched bad TV while holding her hand, praying her nurse didn’t kick me out after visiting hours.  Each beep from the machines and each tube she’s connected to made me want to sob.  So instead we talked about how awful J-Lo’s pants were during her American Idol performance.  She might not be well, but my mom still has spunk.  One of the many reasons why I love her so. 

In honor of Mother’s Day, and more specifically – my mama, I want to say “thank you”.  Thank you for all the life lessons, the cooking lessons, the rides, the trips to San Francisco, the outrageously expensive formal dresses, the college visits, the manicure and pedicure dates, the late nights with my friends where you were just one of us girls, always smelling like Chanel No. 5, letting me play with your pearls in church, the multiple eggs benedict brunches, the trivial pursuit games on the beach, teaching me how to pick good produce, the book recommendations, rocking out to The Clash on the way to school, being the “cool mom” (among many others) for my friends, sitting on a balcony in New York eating Vosges truffles with me, volunteering at my schools, photographing all of my events, and for always being there.  No matter my travesty, no matter my trauma – my mom has always been there to listen, soothe and encourage. 

I love you, I love you, I love you.  Happy Mother’s day, mom.

{ Kindegarten Mom }

3 responses to “Because I love my mom.

  1. Pingback: S’more Please! | Filthy and Gorgeous

  2. Pingback: For Moms With a Heart of Gold | Filthy and Gorgeous

  3. This is truly amazing – Such a sweet post dedicated to your lovely mother.
    donotdiewondering.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

