Because you gotta take off the old to reveal the new…

When it comes to skin care my big motto is “moisturize moisturize moisturize”. But truth be told darlings, sometimes you need a little more than a great face cream, especially now that Jack Frost is nipping at our noses (and making them dry and scaly – yuck!). I tend to exfoliate during cold weather months twice a week, less in the warm weather months when there’s more moisture in the air giving me my ever-so-dewy skin.

When it comes to exfoliants, I’ve tried everything out there and I’ll tell you my all time top 2 –

1. Exfolikate by Kate Somerville is top-notch. After using it for a few weeks, I got all sorts of compliments on how smooth and even my skin looked (which is saying something – curse you adult-acne!) and it felt much better than it even looked. Plus, it’s got all sorts of good-for-you plant extracts and fruit enzymes and smells a little like Big Red chewing gum, which made me wanna eat it. But at $85 a pop, I kept that urge at bay.

2. Now if you don’t want to spend $85 on that little miracle, don’t worry. I have your solution (cue super hero music)! A little trick I learned at make-up school has gotten me through a few “rough” periods, pun completely intended. Every gal should have baking soda in her fridge, so take some of that, shake a bit out into your hand, add a few drops of water and mix into a paste. Voila! Instant-exfoliant! Baking soda is non-toxic and a natural anti-septic, so not only will it be sloughing away all the dead stuff, but it will be killing bacteria as well.

So there you have it beauties – but remember, don’t get too enthusiastic with the exfoliators. Twice a week and you should be good – anything more than that and you run the risk of over-drying and that completely defeats the purpose.

3 responses to “Because you gotta take off the old to reveal the new…

  1. I think I am going to try the exfoliation with the baking soda. You know that everyone I speak to is on a budget it sounds like a great idea!!
    I will let you know how it works for me.

  2. Wow — great tip on the baking soda! Now I have a better reason to buy it than my stinky fridge.

  3. Pingback: Because everyone needs a spa day. | Filthy and Gorgeous

Leave a Reply

